You're viewing all posts tagged with dUg Pinnick
Happy 64th Birthday, dUg Pinnick!

Happy 64th Birthday, dUg Pinnick!

The Making of Grinder Blues

Grinder Blues is a blues-based power trio made up of King’s X’s dUg Pinnick on bass/vocals and roots rock brothers Jabo and Scot Bihlman on guitar/vocals and drums/vocals, respectively. The idea behind the band was to offer a fresh, updated take—or, to quote Jabo Bihlman, a “heavy, twisted take”—on 1950’s Chicago blues but to avoid all the clichés of the genre while keeping the music simple and fun. And according to dUg, to “rock out.”

Good grief, dUg must be one of the hardest working men in rock ‘n’ roll right now.

Pinnick Gales Pridgen - “Every Step of the Way” (PGP 2, 2014)

Latest blues/rock/funk jam from the supergroup of dUg Pinnick, Eric Gales, and Thomas Pridgen. A few thoughts:

  • I think I would have much preferred to see a video of a real live performance rather than a “performance” video, but you take what you can get.
  • I don’t think I’ll ever get used to watching Eric Gales play left-handed and upside-down.
  • Thomas Pridgen seems awfully restrained in this song.

KXM - “Gunfight” (KXM, 2014)

We played our hearts out. We always did. We’ve never not given 120%.
dUg Pinnick on playing to three people in clubs on the Out of the Silent Planet tour, Rick Davenport’s Rock Show
My career started at 38, so I always try to tell people don’t give up on it if you believe. Just keep doing it.

The Bass Will Control The Band If You Do It Right

dUg Pinnick and Dave Ellefson talk bottom end on Fuse TV’s newest digital-only series Metalhead to Head.

Metalhead to Head: dUg Pinnick and Dave Ellefson

Metalhead to Head: dUg Pinnick and Dave Ellefson Part 2

KXM - “Faith Is A Room” (KXM, 2014)

KXM and the making of “Rescue Me”

KXM - “Rescue Me” (KXM, March 11, 2014)

Just listen to that rumbling bass!

KXM Full Album Teaser

For your listening pleasure, KXM, the new project featuring dUg Pinnick (King’s X), George Lynch (Dokken, Lynch Mob), and Ray Luzier (Korn), has released a sampler of every track from their forthcoming eponymous album. The tracklisting is as follows:

  1. Stars
  2. Rescue Me
  3. Gun Fight
  4. Never Stop
  5. Faith Is A Room
  6. I’ll Be OK
  7. Sleep
  8. Love
  9. Burn
  10. Do It Now
  11. Human Friction
  12. Tranquilize (bonus track)
  13. Rescue Me (radio edit) (bonus track)

More behind-the-scenes footage of the KXM project featuring dUg Pinnick, George Lynch, and Ray Luzier

…to me, [Doug Pinnick] was the benchmark… He comes from gospel roots, he’s got the blues thing, he just does it all… Doug is so good he’s a natural fit with anybody. He’s a self-contained machine. He’s got that very unique bass attack and sound and obviously his vocal styling. He’s a poet. He’s a great lyricist and a great frontman, the whole nine yards.
George Lynch on King’s X vocalist/bassist Doug (dUg) Pinnick, Talking Metal podcast, Episode 442