You're viewing all posts tagged with Doug Pinnick

The Making of Grinder Blues

Grinder Blues is a blues-based power trio made up of King’s X’s dUg Pinnick on bass/vocals and roots rock brothers Jabo and Scot Bihlman on guitar/vocals and drums/vocals, respectively. The idea behind the band was to offer a fresh, updated take—or, to quote Jabo Bihlman, a “heavy, twisted take”—on 1950’s Chicago blues but to avoid all the clichés of the genre while keeping the music simple and fun. And according to dUg, to “rock out.”

Good grief, dUg must be one of the hardest working men in rock ‘n’ roll right now.

Pinnick Gales Pridgen - “Every Step of the Way” (PGP 2, 2014)

Latest blues/rock/funk jam from the supergroup of dUg Pinnick, Eric Gales, and Thomas Pridgen. A few thoughts:

  • I think I would have much preferred to see a video of a real live performance rather than a “performance” video, but you take what you can get.
  • I don’t think I’ll ever get used to watching Eric Gales play left-handed and upside-down.
  • Thomas Pridgen seems awfully restrained in this song.

KXM - “Gunfight” (KXM, 2014)

We played our hearts out. We always did. We’ve never not given 120%.
dUg Pinnick on playing to three people in clubs on the Out of the Silent Planet tour, Rick Davenport’s Rock Show
My career started at 38, so I always try to tell people don’t give up on it if you believe. Just keep doing it.

KXM - “Faith Is A Room” (KXM, 2014)

KXM and the making of “Rescue Me”

KXM - “Rescue Me” (KXM, March 11, 2014)

Just listen to that rumbling bass!

KXM Full Album Teaser

For your listening pleasure, KXM, the new project featuring dUg Pinnick (King’s X), George Lynch (Dokken, Lynch Mob), and Ray Luzier (Korn), has released a sampler of every track from their forthcoming eponymous album. The tracklisting is as follows:

  1. Stars
  2. Rescue Me
  3. Gun Fight
  4. Never Stop
  5. Faith Is A Room
  6. I’ll Be OK
  7. Sleep
  8. Love
  9. Burn
  10. Do It Now
  11. Human Friction
  12. Tranquilize (bonus track)
  13. Rescue Me (radio edit) (bonus track)

More behind-the-scenes footage of the KXM project featuring dUg Pinnick, George Lynch, and Ray Luzier

…to me, [Doug Pinnick] was the benchmark… He comes from gospel roots, he’s got the blues thing, he just does it all… Doug is so good he’s a natural fit with anybody. He’s a self-contained machine. He’s got that very unique bass attack and sound and obviously his vocal styling. He’s a poet. He’s a great lyricist and a great frontman, the whole nine yards.
George Lynch on King’s X vocalist/bassist Doug (dUg) Pinnick, Talking Metal podcast, Episode 442

via dUg on Facebook:
Doug Pinnick with Jeff Ament and Jerry Cantrell at The Limelight, New York City on 10/27/1990

And Now We’re Friends And We Play In A Band Together

KXM “Gun Fight” Trailer

I know this might come as a surprise, but King’s X frontman Doug “dUg” Pinnick has formed yet another side-project, this time with former Dokken guitarist and Lynch Mob founder George Lynch and Korn drummer Ray Luzier. Sometimes I think Pinnick is trying to contest James Brown’s title as “The Hardest Working Man in Show Business.” In this trailer, the trio introduces the song “Gun Fight” as they talk about how they got together, their writing process, and how putting together a “supergroup” that looks good on paper sometimes just doesn’t work.

When you have musicians of this calibre, the instrumentation is obviously going to be top-shelf. And it should come as no surprise that the song itself has a definite groove, something Pinnick has become known for with his involvement in any project. But while the whole is often less than the sum of its parts with collaborations like this one, KXM may well be the exception if the rest of the songs are as strong as “Gun Fight.”

Check out the KXM website to find out more about the project and the upcoming debut album. I’m definitely going to keep my eye on this one.